Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Staff member
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
Thanks for your time. I am now in my third year of the university, and my major is chemistry. I am now doing projects in Harvard Medical School which will take a year. After immersed in the Harvard atmosphere, I really began to fall in love with this mystery school. However, I am not sure if the admissions office can even look at my profile.

Here is my information, my university is in China and not popular. I have a bad gpa, which is 3.4/4.0. I just didn’t realize how gpa is so important and I always skip classes to do my own research. I have been published some articles in WOS indexed database, such as IEEE, Nanoscale research letter( all second author), and mitochondrial DNA ( first author), chemistry oggi(first author) and an EI as well. Due to the bad condition in my school, I mainly focus on computational stuff. And now at HMS, I am doing microscopy extension.

I have won lots of competitions, like international collegiate programming contest, International math modeling contest, and also prices of chemistry knowledge and researches( but the competition is in China, and I don’t think they will pay attention to it).

I know it is not very close to a Medical School’s qualification, but I do hope someone can give me some advice on my application. I don’t want to be a doctor, I just hope to get PHD programs and do research in bioengineering or bioinformatics.

I have got a tofel score of 96, but I can get more in a month( 96 is my first test and I didn’t prepare) But I haven’t got an GRE right now. ( I am revising for IELTS in case some school don’t accept tofel score).

Could anyone give me some suggestions on which school to choose? I love Harvard but if it is higher than me, I can choose another. But only PHD, since I really need scholarships to cover myself.
Thanks!