This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Futuredoc0614

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

Some background on myself: I am a non-traditional pre-med student, age 27 and am currently a bio major. After working 6 years in marketing to support my wife through nursing school I have finally begun my journey towards my dream-becoming a physician. I just completed my second semester of undergrad and have signed up for summer to help accelerate my progress.

My Problem/Question: Because I was out of school for so long, my math skills were understandably rusty. I had to take 2 remedial algebra courses and am now entering college algebra this summer.. I know I am not that "behind", I just feel like I'm going to be stuck with these math pre-reqs for another year! I desperately want to begin my sciences but my school will not let me as they say I need to complete my math pre-reqs first.. I guess my question is- do I really need to complete college algebra in order to take BIO I/CHEM I? is it because I am a bio major that I need to follow this ridiculous course sequence? For example, If I were an English major and wanted to take Chemistry, would I be allowed to without having the math pre-req? It doesn't stop at Algebra, they said I need trig/statistics/calculus for some classes as well... seems strange..

As you may have guessed, math is not my strongest subject, but I somehow get by.. I am seriously considering changing my major to something a little less math-intensive in order to keep my GPA high/ start taking my sciences.. what do you think about Neuroscience?

What are your thoughts/advice on this?

Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.