Help: Should I retake Bio101 even though I have credit for it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mountainmama23

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a prevet student who is only a freshman but I wanted some advice. I know this seems stupid amongst all the vet school admissions forums but I figured I would just post it anyways. I took a placement test at my school to place out of Bio101 and just found out I passed and got the credit, but with the lowest possible score (60%). My options are to either retake it (lecture and lab) anyways, which I would do, but I know that it is a weed-out class and I am worried that it will be hard even though I am good at bio. Some people are telling me to retake it, but I was wondering if I really need to or if it is better to move onto the next biology class instead. I am just scared that if I retake it, I won't get an A because it is just a hard class in nature and it will be for nothing. If I do get an A though, it will be a helpful gpa boost because I got a C+ in chem101 last semester (which didn't give me much faith in 101 classes). I am also taking chem102 this semester (the second level of gen chem) and I'm not the best at chemistry so I'm going to need to put a lot of time into that class. I know this depends on the school a little, but just any experience in general that could help would be much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: