Help! Need to make a decision soon.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rittuvh

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm looking for rankings for graduate entry medical programs in Australia? Specifically which are the strong points of Usyd and Flinders as I am trying to make a choice between the two.
Would be wonderful if anyone could share their views.

- Rittu

Members don't see this ad.

The other thing you might want to look at is affliations the school has. For example Flinders has affliations with Columbia and Uni of New mexico. Not sure about USyd. Hope this helps.

DrIng said:
The other thing you might want to look at is affliations the school has. For example Flinders has affliations with Columbia and Uni of New mexico. Not sure about USyd. Hope this helps.

Not sure the affiliations makes any difference in the long run. At the time I was a student at Flinders we had several more affiliations than listed above, but I had no trouble in setting up visiting final year electives at many others schools. Frankly, I didn't rotate at a single "affiliated" school (they just weren't in the area I wanted to be).

I might argue that U of Sydney isn't really known better in the US - when I queried US academics before I matriculated most of them hadn't heard of any of the schools, other than an awareness that Sydney was in Australia and was a great city. A couple had specifically heard of Flinders (because they either were involved in setting up the PBL program there or had known others who had gone there previously - Aussies mostly). In the end, the reputation in the US is probably not significantly different. Most US medical faculty have not heard of either school in regards to its medical program or research (of which Flinders has plenty as well). Go whereever the lifestyle suits you best.