Help me decide: PharmD, MD, CRNA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kcha95

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Long story short I am a 5th year PharmD student with a premedical minor. I planned to take the MCAT for the first time this August but gave up after a month of studying full time. I primarily attribute this to not taking a break after my most recent semester. My goal has been to apply to medical school with hopes of becoming an anesthesiologist after completing my PharmD. I initially felt that I would come back to the MCAT at some point, probably during my semester break.

After failing to stay on track with the MCAT I have spent the remainder of my summer working full time and shadowing. I recently started shadowing a CRNA in the OR and loved every second of it. I shadowed the OR Pharmacist the following day and the role of the CRNA seemed much more interesting to me by comparison. I have shadowed anesthesiologist several times as well, but not in the OR.

I figure if I wanted become a CRNA I could do a 12 month accelerated BSN after completing my PharmD, work for a year in the ICU, and then apply to and hopefully complete a CRNA program in 2 to 3 years. So it seems this would be about the same time frame as becoming anesthesiologist, but without the requirement of a residency from my understanding. I understand the pay is less than an anesthesiologist, but I am not too worried about salary as long as I can afford to support a family and pay my student loans. I would much rather be satisfied with the work I do.

Members don't see this ad.