Help me decide between Neurosurgery and Ortho

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NSxortho

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 2nd year med student in Canada and have been having a difficult time deciding on specialties. I have shadowed a lot of specialties, but only ortho and neurosurgery were the ones that I felt drawn to. Here is my experience with the two specialties:

Ortho: In general, I find myself to be a great fit in the ortho community. I somewhat fit the stereotypical bro image too (athletic, Muay Thai trained, work hard, play hard kinda dude), and most of my classmates already assume I am going into ortho. I found arthroplasty to be really fun, and the surgeons were hilarious. I could see myself going to work just to spend time with these people, it felt like a family. However, I found plain hip, knee, and shoulder replacements to be somewhat simplistic and not as intellectually stimulating. It lacked the kind of complexity and challenge I am interested in. I shadowed hand surgery and found it to be too delicate and micro for me.
However, ortho spine was a different story. I found it to be so exciting - the tech was mind blowing, the surgery was complex, challenging, and still macro which I like. Seeing the spinal cord made me literally euphoric. I couldn’t take my eyes off of it. I realized at that moment that my love for the brain outweighs my interest in MSK. There was also more medical management involved in spine, which I actually appreciate!

Overall I can see myself going into ortho spine and living a happy life. My concern is that I would have to do 5 years of ortho training in arthroplasty, hand, and foot, etc. I don’t mind it. I get along with ortho people. It is also easier than a neurosurgery residency. I also haven’t seen ortho trauma, oncology, or pediatrics which might be interesting too!