Hello! New to SDF- Pharm D. to O.D. Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TrannosaurusRx

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, this is my first post.
(So feel free to tell me if I am doing anything wrong!)

Quick Summary of myself:
I recently (within the last year) switched my focus from applying to Pharmacy Schools to Optometry Schools. I was a pre-pharm student at UOP for undegrad. I am currently taking some repeat classes (at a different school) b/c I didn't do too hot in some of my classes my first two years of college. This summer and next semester I plan to take post-bach classes. It's been in my head the previous 4 years that I was working towards Pharmacy, so all my volunteer work/shadowing/licenses have been geared towards that. However, since I've made the switch, I was lucky enough to attain a job at a local (very successful and busy) O.D. practice, so I am familiarizing myself/learning about the field at very fast speeds. Before that I almost had no clue what the field was like, just that I was very interested in it. (A lot of my friends are Pharm.Ds, and after being exposed to it for a while, I grew a little bored/weary of the field.)
Don't have the best of grades, but not horrible. Very determined. Good writer/interviewee.
Dream School: SCCO or Western (but will go to almost any)
Applying this summer.

Anyhow, I guess I will start with the following questions:

1) Is/Was anyone here on the same boat as me?

2) Is there somewhere on this forum where I can find sample essay topics from previous years' Optomcast? (I'm not familiar with a forum format...first time!)

3) Will schools look down upon me if I apply for the Pharmacy school at the same time (but only like 2-3) as Optometry school, as a "back-up"?
-Is it bad to have back-up in a completely different field?

4) Any helpful tips you can give someone like me? Anything constructive advice will be appreciated! :)