MD Going to med school with skin condition

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

studentfizzition

Reaction score
Hello all,

I needed some advice from you all with a particular situation that I am dealing with. I am a first yr student at a US med school. I have a severe form of skin disorder called hidradenitis supparativa. This condition is autoimmune and results in multiple boils on my skin throughout my body along with sinus tracts. Additionally, I bleed from my affected areas (armpits and groin). I have tried multiple treatments but they have not helped. My condition is chronic and I will likely have to deal with this for the rest of my life.

Before starting med school, I wasn't too concerned about my condition especially because it is not life threatening and didn't result in symptoms that affected my ability to study or work. My dermatologist told me that it is possible for me to pursue medicine but I would have to deal with the bleeding. So I decided to give it a shot. As a first yr student, I'm doing okay with my studies, but I do worry about my future as a physician. With regards to this, I have a few questions/concerns:

1. Before starting rotations, there is a physical/wellness exam appointment I must attend. Will my condition be flagged as something that will affect my ability to perform during rotations?
  2. How will I do in rotations? Are there concerns with regards to my bleeding that would prevent me from doing certain tasks such as assisting in surgery?
  3. How will I do in residency and beyond?

Members don't see this ad.

• Care
Reactions: 1 users
These really are questions that would have to be answered by your school based on the policies at your school. People here could speculate, but really you need a personalized answer that only your school can provide. The sooner you reach out to them the better.