Getting cold feet about medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zamba

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I already posted this on another thread. My journey to medical school has been a long one. I am an international student and this is the third time I applied and finally got in. I am having so many second thoughts and I am worried about so many things. I am a 32 year old single female. I never thought I would question medicine, but I have been lately. I am worried that I will not have the chance to have a family if I attend medical school. I know this is something I have to sort out on my own, but I was wondering if anyone can give me any advice!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
Dear Zamba, congratulations on your acceptance to medical school! This is an impressive feat for anyone but even more so for someone applying their 3rd cycle as an international student, so take a moment to be proud of yourself.

I can relate to what you're feeling. When I was accepted to med school I was a 31yo reapplicant, and I was leaving behind a career that was just starting to go well and where I was at the end of the training path instead of the beginning. Definitely had some people tell me I was crazy to give up what I had for the life of a medical trainee and/or say I was too old, but remember the former is a personal decision and the latter is just not true. My first year of med school was the hardest for me, not because of the academic work (though there is a lot to learn) but because of questioning myself/ my decision constantly. I got into a bad habit of rubbing my eyes a lot from stress, and for the first time in my life had like 3 styes in a 6 month period (this does wonders for your self confidence too, lol).