MD General Surgery Interest- Mixed Performance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Medstudentin

Reaction score
Hello,
I usually dislike these posts, but I am having a huge amount fo anxiety regarding this and want to talk more about it with people who might have some honest input.

I am an American Med student interested in general surgery (but also very open to OBGYN yet general surgery comes first).

I have done great in my preclinicals and then life happened:

1) I really did not do well on my step 1 (literally barely passed so keep that in mind).
2) I failed my Family med shelf.

Otherwise I am heavily involved in research and have done a significant amount of it (surgery mainly, but also in IM a bit). I also work with an Ivy league med school on some research. I have a VERY solid and strong relationship with PIs (2 surgeons) in all these places.

I also have a very solid volunteering experience and have even gotten very prestigious awards regarding that.

If I really want to go into general surgery.... am I delusional? Should I scrap it and think of something less competitive? I am obviously planning on having serious corrections to what I am doing and studying and how I am approaching my studies lately.

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Go for it, but have a plan 1b

Reactions: 1 users
Play around with this website: https://public.tableau.com/app/prof...ram/viz/ChartingOutcomes2020/ChartingOutcomes

The numbers are the numbers. The match rate for Gen Surg is 28% over the past 5 years for applicants with a score <200. For OB/Gyn it's 54%, which is still basically a coin flip. That doesn't take into account the additional red flag of your need to remediate your FM shelf.