General Advice on picking a school (ICOM, LUCOM, NSU KPCOM, VCOM (LA))

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Spotts.A

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to the site and this is my first time applying to medical school. I have been lucky enough to be accepted at multiple schools, but now I am running into the issue of choosing which school to attend. I've taken notes and done fairly extensive research on each school and I have come down to two favorites (LUCOM and VCOM), but am open to opinions on the other two (NSU KPCOM and ICOM). I had very fun and relaxed interviews with both VCOM and LUCOM, and I felt a little bit more at home during my VCOM interview. However, I am almost thirty and looking at where I may want to live for the rest of my life. I liked VCOM but I'm not sure if I want to spend my life in Lousiana or any of the neighboring states.
I liked LUCOM and I would love to live in Virginia, but I am not a devout Christian, and Fallwell has definitely cast a shadow over the school from everything I have seen and read in both the news and online forums. In my mind, I would think the school will likely try to "do better" in order to maintain the integrity of the institution, and I would think that the students and faculty are caring and want us to succeed and enjoy medical school, regardless of our religious background or sexual orientation. Also, I don't personally believe that at a graduate-level they have time to run around and catch people having a beer off campus after a big test, or having premarital sex (these aren't the biggest issues but I've seen them on Reddit forums that's my opinion. If I'm wrong, let me know).