Found ophtho late - even possible to switch into now?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Quigon

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a fourth year US medical student who has nearly finished interviewing for a non-surgical residency. It had always been a struggle for me in choosing a field since the beginning of third year, but over the past few months, I've come to realize that the field I'm applying into may not be the best fit for me. I have had some experience with ophthalmology, though peripherally via other clerkships, but I have done a lot of reading and have taken an interest in the field, particularly retina and pediatrics. The field appears to offer a lot of what I hope to get out of my career and I was considering not going through with the match; however, I realize it's the end of January of fourth year.

I realize no one can predict how any particular application may be received, but I wanted to seek some opinions here before moving forward and speaking with my home department.

Here are some general academics:
Step 1: 250+
Step 2: 250+
Third year grades: All honors
Elected to AOA
Research: one publication, two abstracts (all non-ophtho)
School: Top 25 with a home ophthalmology department (though unsure where they "rank)

I realize my academics are good, but I am worried about other aspects of my application. Namely:
(1) Late realization in fourth year (reflects negatively on me? reflects lack of commitment?)
(2) Lack of ophthalmology research + half of fourth year over
(3) Lack of ophthalmology-related extracurriculars
(4) How to proceed from here if feasible? (clinical research for sure; start attending some clinics to get to know faculty?)

Thank you everyone for any assistance, as this has been a real struggle in trying decide which field I hope to ultimately settle in.

Members don't see this ad.