Florida Post-Bacc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sasevan

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
Wondering if anyone here did a post-bacc premed program either at University of Miami or at the University of North Florida?
Any info on either of these two programs would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Peace.

Members don't see this ad.

no, but Barry University in North Dade has a Biomedical Science program and it has post-bacc built in to it. It does all teh first year med courses, mainly by Nova and Miami profs. A few are on staff at Barry as well from their PA and POD program and are great teachers.

went to barry Master of Biomedical Science program and it did get me into a D.O. program (westernU). Good program, very very expensive ($550-600/credit). This is one of the feeder school for Nova D.O. school (about 20-25 students got accepted there the year i graduated). Good luck

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by dim sum
went to barry Master of Biomedical Science program and it did get me into a D.O. program (westernU). Good program, very very expensive ($550-600/credit). This is one of the feeder school for Nova D.O. school (about 20-25 students got accepted there the year i graduated). Good luck
Just curious, how much was the total cost?

i think you need at least 36 credits to graduate so you'll spend about 20 G's. If you do the program, make sure you're able to take the gross anatomy course w/ lab, it'll help your MS-1 a lot cause the gross anatomy is identical to med school gross anatomy course. Besides Barry, i think Nova has its own post bac but i have no info on that.

Hi everyone,
Thanks for all the great info.
The Barry U program I understand takes about 2 yrs as opposed to the U of Miami which I believe takes only 1-1.5 yrs. I think UNF is also less than 2 yrs.