Navy Flight Surgeon and Eyesight

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mewalston

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm pretty sure I know the answer to this, but here goes:

I'm a Navy HPSP student starting this year as an M1. During MEPS, I tested as colorblind (deuteranomaly, which I knew about), and lacking depth perception (which I didn't know about). I also have floaters, but was never asked AFAIK and did not volunteer this information. Otherwise, I have excellent visual acuity.

My question: does this mean I can never be a flight surgeon? I'm not really wedded to the idea of being a flight surgeon, but I'm kind of an aviation nerd and I love flying.

Thanks for any insight!

Members don't see this ad.

The color blind portion is non-waiverable.

You could be an aeromedical examiner, but wouldn't be able to earn your wings.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile app

For color-blind: According to the Aeromedical Reference and Waiver Guide "waivers have been granted for aeromedical and other Class II aircrew applicants on a case-by-case basis."

So it is possible. The default answer will likely be "no." However, flight is hurting for people so don't accept "no" for an answer.

Depth perception should be waiverable as well for an aeromedical officer, but the default answer will also likely be "no."

Fight for it and you might be able to get it.

Members don't see this ad :)

You could be an aeromedical examiner, but wouldn't be able to earn your wings.

Waiverable for Army and AF. In the AF I think it restricts you to certain airframes. The Army is all helos anyway.

Not sure about Navy regs

I'm color deficient and logged about 600 hours in helos, including some front seat time in the OH 58D

A lot of people fail that depth perception thing I wouldn't worry about that.