First Assists Any Good?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UncleMinnie

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an ENT resident in the job search, and just wanted to ask out of curiosity, what is it like working with a first assist? As I do thyroids, parotids, and neck dissections these days, I recognize that my attendings are very often retracting perfectly to make my life easy. I'm interested to know how many people are satisfied with first assists when they need some extra hands in the OR, versus how many people tend train up a PA/NP to help, or have one of their partners come scrub in.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm an ENT resident in the job search, and just wanted to ask out of curiosity, what is it like working with a first assist? As I do thyroids, parotids, and neck dissections these days, I recognize that my attendings are very often retracting perfectly to make my life easy. I'm interested to know how many people are satisfied with first assists when they need some extra hands in the OR, versus how many people tend train up a PA/NP to help, or have one of their partners come scrub in.

Usually have the scrub tech assist as much as they are allowed to do.

I used a PA for some cases. It worked fine. They were trained in general surgery and Ortho so they weren't completely familiar with the anatomy (gyn) but it was adequate.

I Sometimes bring in one of my colleagues for anticipated difficult cases but I try to limit that. They have clinic and their own cases so I don't want to inconvenience them too much.

I have asked some of the older community docs to help me out from time to time. That is hit or miss. Sometimes they are terrible.

I've learned to be more independent as I've progressed in my career and realized I can do a lot of cases safely on my own.

Reactions: 1 user