Fair compensation for collaborating Physician

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NPDude362

Membership Revoked
Removed
Reaction score
Hello,

I am new around these parts and appreciate all the valuable insights into private practice I have found. I am a current Family Nurse Practitioner with around 15 years experience in healthcare between various positions. I will be completing a Post Masters Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate this December and will be looking to eventually open up a private practice.

While my state has independent practice for nurse practitioners I will be still be acquiring a collaborating physician for oversight and for reimbursement from certain insurance companies. I was wondering what kind of ball park figure I am looking at. I have done some research and the numbers are all over the place. I understand not everyone here has favorable opinions on NPs but please keep that out of here. I have identified a severely underserved area where no psychiatrists are even taking on new patients.

Thanks for any advice and I look forward to participating in discussions here.

Members don't see this ad.

50K per year is a truly appropriate supervision price.

Possible to find less. I was approached once for $500/month for 1 hour to simply sign charts, naturally passed on that. You'll find everything in between. But I wouldn't touch for less than 50K.

Reactions: 6 users
50K per year is a truly appropriate supervision price.

Possible to find less. I was approached once for $500/month for 1 hour to simply sign charts, naturally passed on that. You'll find everything in between. But I wouldn't touch for less than 50K.