This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

healthEngineer

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I am a graduate student at UCLA pursuing a M.S. in bioengineering. My interests have changed recently and I am now looking to go to medical school to eventually become a psychiatrist. This decision was sparked in Jan 2020 when I found my mom and brother were using addictive, illegal drugs again. This is nothing new, drug and alcohol addiction have occurred throughout my family since I can remember. Bipolar disorder, obsessive compulsive disorder, attention deficit disorder, and depression are also among my family. My hope is to become a psychiatrist to help people with these disorders and addictions since I have seen first-hand how devastating the effects can be if not treated or managed properly.

Before I can apply to medical school, I need to finish about half of the premed science courses, develop connections who can write good letters of recommendation, gain clinical experience, and do some shadowing. To do this, I am considering dropping out of the M.S. program, becoming an EMT or psychiatric aide (to gain medical experience), and applying to a post-bacc program with med school linkages (so I can fast-track into a med school and skip the gap year). I mostly want to drop out of the M.S. in bioengineering because I feel what I am researching and learning is not aligned with helping people who have mental health disorders and/or addictions, and I have about 2 years left before I can graduate.

I am curious what others think about this plan. Do you think dropping the M.S. will harm my potential to get accepted into post-bacc programs or medical schools? Do med schools prefer students with advanced engineering degrees or is hands-on medical experience more important? How selective are post-bacc programs?

I look forward to hearing from you all. Thanks for reading.

Members don't see this ad.