Emergency pyschiatry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dj_smooth

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've just started my psych rotation today and was introduced to the idea of emergency psychiatry...is this something one can specialize in? maybe one would burn out from dealing with the difficult folks that come through the door, but it seems similar to what all the trauma junkies are looking for...

is there additional training for this kind of job?

Members don't see this ad.

I used to work as a psychiatric social worker in a psych emergency department, and all the psychiatrists who worked there had completed a psychiatry residency without extra training. Some were fulltime psych emergency docs, while others worked one or two shifts per week. The best thing about the psych emergency dept was the camaraderie (some of the funniest, most intelligent people I've ever worked with) and of course the adrenalin. The psychiatrists who only worked a few shifts in psych emergency often had private practice or other psych gigs in different settings.