EHR Audit trails, sticky notes, you're every move is being watched

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nexus73

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
We recently moved to Epic EHR and noticed right off the bat an interesting function where if you copy forward an old note and then edit it for today, there is a button that will gray out the copied material. Pretty shocking when you see a note with a handful of black new text and 90% old text, even if none of the old text needs to be changed.

I am not an expert in EHR audit trails, but perusing LinkedIn there are many expert witnesses who specialize in extracting and analyzing the audit trail of EHRs for malpractice cases. Here is an article from 2018 outlining caution in use of EHR that everything you do, every note you select, every lab you view, how long you view it, or click you make will be recorded Be Mindful of Pandora’s Box – EHR Audit Trails and Litigation | The Cooperative of American Physicians

I'm sure it's not news to everyone here. But the surprising thing to me is how plaintiff malpractice attorneys are more and more often getting the audit trail analyzed to create more data to support a malpractice claim. As a physician this feels very intrusive. And we bring this software into our jobs and it creates data that gets used against us in a lawsuit. The EPIC sticky note function is another source of data as part of an audit trail, who created it, who looked at it, was critical patient information not seen?

All of this data is discoverable by a plaintiff in a malpractice case so watch yourself.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
Yep.

Another point in the hat for private practice. Less Big Brother.

Or pick places that use non-Epic EMRs?

Reactions: 2 users