Duke vs Cornell (WL)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futurist99

Reaction score
Hi friends,

I am very grateful to be accepted at Duke and on the WL at Cornell. I am basically trying to decide whether or not to send a letter of intent to Cornell. I was originally leaning heavily towards sending the LOI to Cornell (mainly because of the location in NYC). However, I am having second thoughts after second look at Duke. I feel like prestige/opportunities/match list wise they are more or less the same, with a slight edge to Duke. COA is basically the same. I think what got me is how easy life is in Durham, and the students appear very happy with the full P/F + tight knit community. Also, I am very outdoorsy and Durham has lots of green space for hiking, running, biking, etc. On the flip side, I love living in NYC and feel like I may regret not doing my twenties in the city even if I am a med student. Given the waitlist is not ranked at Cornell I feel like if I don't send the LOI my chances are not great. I have it all written, but keep going back and forth on what to do.

Duke Pros:
  • Slightly more prestigious?
  • Pass/Fail Clerkships
  • Full year of research (potentially interested in more competitive specialties)
  • Low COL
  • Beautiful campus, easy living
  • Students seem incredibly happy and tight-knit
Duke Cons:
  • Non-urban patient population
  • Further from home and SO (New England) and no family or friends nearby
  • not NYC
Cornell Pros:
  • Diverse, urban patient population (if you make an effort to rotate outside of just the UES)
  • Closer to family and friends (many friends in NYC, but still long distance with SO)
  • Love living in NYC
Cornell Cons:
  • Only 6 months research, seems like everyone who goes into competitive specialty does a research year.
  • NYC is expensive and as a med student won't have much money
  • Internal ranking
  • Graded clerkships