DO's in Rheumatology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gatewasani

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a 2nd year IM resident at a Community program in the Northeast.

Taking a look at the top Rheumatology programs fellowship rosters, I see very few DO's. I have seen a number of Caribbean grads and FMGs but very few DOs. Anyone know why that is. Is Rheum not a DO friendly fellowship?

Members don't see this ad.

I think it's difficult to predict right now. Once upon a time rheumatology was not competitive at all, now recently it is (at least somewhat). So it's hard to predict admissions decisions

Last year (table 2), 29 DOs matched in Rheum, compared to 118 US grads and 40 IMGs. That is, 13.3% of the total matched applicants were DOs.

If we go back to the 2015 main residency match data given it's the same cohort, 511 DOs matched IM out of 6770 people total, meaning DOs were only 7.5% of that group. Now, that match does not include any osteopathic IM programs so it is likely to be an under-estimate, but even still, it looks like DOs are actually proportionally over-represented among those IM residents who move on to Rheumatology.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
given it's the same cohort, 511 DOs matched IM out of 6770 people total, meaning DOs were only 7.5% of that group. Now, that match does not include any osteopathic IM programs so it is likely to be an under-estimate, but even still, it looks like DOs are actually proportionally over-represented among those IM residents who move on to Rheumatology.