DOD Employee Physicians

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrSambo

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a civilian family physician. I've recently been offered a position in an Army clinic as a DOD employee. Skimming through this forum, it seems to be mostly geared toward active duty folks, but perhaps I'm mistaken with that. Is this forum an appropriate place to seek wisdom for an Army employed civilian physician position? If not, any recommendations for other forums that would be more appropriate? Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Some of it will depend upon where you’ll be. Different facilities have different patient draws. Generally speaking, no matter where you go, the average age and overall health of the patients you’ll see with decrease and improve, respectively. You can see family members to include kids of soldiers, and soldiers have a ton of kids by and large.
This is a good place to ask. There are AD FM and IM docs who can comment on the practice type, and usually you would see the same clinic that they would. But you would make a lot more and have a lot less baggage than they do.

Some of it will depend upon where you’ll be. Different facilities have different patient draws. Generally speaking, no matter where you go, the average age and overall health of the patients you’ll see with decrease and improve, respectively. You can see family members to include kids of soldiers, and soldiers have a ton of kids by and large.
This is a good place to ask. There are AD FM and IM docs who can comment on the practice type, and usually you would see the same clinic that they would. But you would make a lot more and have a lot less baggage than they do.
Thanks for this reply. Quite helpful.