DO MSIII seeking opinion on west coast IM residency with heme onc program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

liluoke

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Dear fellow SDNers,

Thank you in advance for reading this, and merry christmas!

I am a 3rd year medical student at a california osteopathic school and very serious about internal medicine and HemeOnc fellowship. I'm looking at internal medicine positions in California (already identified which ones have heme onc fellowships), and I would like to seek some advice. First some relevant stats:

USMLE Step 1: 252, Step 2 pending
COMLEX 1: 674, COMLEX 2 pending (but only thinking of applying to ACGME so this number doesn't really matter unfortunately)
Honors in IM rotation (and OB-GYN so far).
High rank in class (definitely top 10%, but don't know what exactly)
Published an abstract in JAOA concerning an epidemiological study on breast cancer patients in Taiwan; placed 2nd place in an OMED competition for foreign research abstracts
Did some basic science research about the HERG potassium channel in oocytes, no publish
Was active in planning bone marrow drives with the AADP and be the match 1st and 2nd year, signing up ~150+ pts (of course with help)
Writing a case report on myelofibrosis which I'll try to publish in the near future
Getting a letter of recommendation from a DO heme onc who I worked closely with (and with the case report with)

My question is this: what do you think is the best IM program fit for me to on the grounds of
1) Best Heme Onc Fellowship available (haven't read much on which californian heme onc programs are better?)
2) Best IM experience for a DO with high board scores (252 on step 1, anticipating something similar for step 2)
3) Californian (Californian IM residencies with heme/onc fellowships include:
1. Scripps Clinic
2. UCSD (x)
3. Loma Linda
3. UCLA Med Center (x)
4. UCI (x)
5. UCD (x)
6. UCSF (x)
7. UCLA Olive View