Direct admission into Endodontics residency possible? should I apply?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

desiboho

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am currently a DS3 in dental school, and I am wondering if it is worth trying to apply to Endo Residency this upcoming cycle. If I am top 15%, have research experience, have leadership positions, and a part of various professional orgs, work... do I have a chance? Where I am lacking is that I have no experience since we aren't allowed to do anything endo during third year, but will when I become a fourth year, so I was wondering if there are programs that are open to accepting direct applicants.

Members don't see this ad.

Doesn't hurt to try like previously said. But apply broadly if you want a shot straight out of school. Programs may one cycle want a resident or two straight out of school one cycle and then the next cycle none. You never know. I applied to ~30 programs.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Doesn't hurt to try like previously said. But apply broadly if you want a shot straight out of school. Programs may one cycle want a resident or two straight out of school one cycle and then the next cycle none. You never know. I applied to ~30 programs.
Out of the 30 programs, how many did you get interviews to and did you get in to a program directly out of school? Just curious

Out of the 30 programs, how many did you get interviews to and did you get in to a program directly out of school? Just curious
Got interviews to 3 programs
Attended two interviews
Got accepted to my first interview school a few days later before the second program concluded their second interview day and informed them

Reactions: 5 users