Dentistry in Australia

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mynameis

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
I am a first year dental student in Australia and I was just wondering about a few things about the profession. Like after you finish your degree how hard or easy is it to get a job? Are dentists as much hated in the community as everyone says! How much can you except to make? How is the actual work? Is it very stressful? Also I would love to hear from other dental students and their adventures as they did their degree? Also how hard is it to speicalize?
Any comments will be appreciated. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Mynameis said:
Hi Everyone,
I am a first year dental student in Australia and I was just wondering about a few things about the profession. Like after you finish your degree how hard or easy is it to get a job? Are dentists as much hated in the community as everyone says! How much can you except to make? How is the actual work? Is it very stressful? Also I would love to hear from other dental students and their adventures as they did their degree? Also how hard is it to speicalize?

I'm more than a little surprised that you're a dental student who doesnt know anything about dentistry? hehe.. :) The general australasian impression I get from dent students is that it is relatively easy to find a job after graduation.

I can't quote figures, but once again in NZ the general impression the dent students try to tell me is that dent grads make more than med grads straight out of school, when hours per week worked is taken into account.

Mynameis said:
Hi Everyone,