Delay Core Exam

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cecumbowels

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am going to be taking the core exam in the first week of June. I am thinking about delaying it because I honestly do not think I am going to pass it at this point. I am still going through Crack the Core review books and there is honestly just too much information to memorize. I wish I had started studying a little earlier. I just started studying a month ago. I am trying to do Anki flashcards, but there is just so much content.

Any thoughts on delaying the exam? Should I just take it? I scored a 25 percent on the in service this year.

Members don't see this ad.

It's unlikely a delay will make a real difference unless there were something in life that happened that really led to you missing a good chunk of residency. You still have 2 months which is a lot of time to prepare.

Find your weak points and hit them hard, focus on the easy stuff that should be free points such as NIS, physics, some nucs stuff. For some things you will just have to rely on your residency exposure. Don't get overwhelmed - you will never feel like you know everything. Does your program do board reviews?

25th percentile would still be passing, FYI. I think in the worst years the failure rate was around 15%. The goal is not to know everything that may be on the exam - that's impossible.

It's unlikely a delay will make a real difference unless there were something in life that happened that really led to you missing a good chunk of residency. You still have 2 months which is a lot of time to prepare.

Find your weak points and hit them hard, focus on the easy stuff that should be free points such as NIS, physics, some nucs stuff. For some things you will just have to rely on your residency exposure. Don't get overwhelmed - you will never feel like you know everything. Does your program do board reviews?