Decline in international MD/PhD acceptances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

minniebot

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an international student planning on applying to MD/PhD programs in the upcoming cycle. I knew this was going to be an uphill battle and that things would be stacked against me as an international student so last year I made a spreadsheet including every program that said they accepted international students and looked up on MSAR the actual number of international students matriculated. I recently revisited this list/MSAR and realized almost every single program on my list that previously matriculated international students didn't matriculate a single international student in the most recent cycle. Even UPenn that previously had a class with 6/22 matriculated students being international (according to MSAR) has gone down to 0. Is there any particular reason for this that I should be aware of like a recent change in funding or are there just fewer international students applying?

Members don't see this ad.

Would you mind sharing your spreadsheet? I had a number of international applicants to my program last year, and I know that 9 of them enrolled in MD-PhD programs. Perhaps MSAR is wrong.

Reactions: 1 user
Would you mind sharing your spreadsheet? I had a number of international applicants to my program last year, and I know that 9 of them enrolled in MD-PhD programs. Perhaps MSAR is wrong.