CWRU Dental school vs. USC Dental school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hopefuldent77

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am an incoming D1 student!
I am trying to decide between Case Western Reserve School of Dental Medicine and USC School of Dental Medicine. I know both schools have their ups and downs, but if any dental student knows anything in particular about these two schools, please comment! Other than the cost of tuition and living, which school is better?

Things that are important for me:
- supportive environment ( both students and faculty)
- clinical experience
- less depressing environment lol
- I want to specialize in orthodontics, so I would like to gain research opportunities

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
The people of the internet have spoken…

Big Hoss

Reactions: 2 users
but if any dental student knows anything in particular about these two schools, please comment! Other than the cost of tuition and living, which school is better?
This is what I would ask if I was evaluating two schools

1) how many students ended up specializing with respect to each specialty in the last 2-3 years. They should give you these stats.
2) what are the graduating requirements. How many crowns, fillings, root canals etc are needed to graduate
3) is the school pass/fail or is there ranking
4) what is the class size

If cost is reasonably not a huge difference these factors would weigh heavily into the decision. Furthermore Southern California is far superior than Ohio. You will be living there for four years.
Also if you’re thinking long term, many find their spouse during dental school. Based on probability this could influence where you end up for the long term.

Reactions: 1 user