CVS vs. Walgreens as a new pharmacist (Class of 2020)? Walgreens is offering 46$/hr as a floater, and CVS is offering 53$/hr as a staff pharmacist.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tuf06150

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a grad intern at Walgreens. Walgreens is offering 46$/hr as a floater, and CVS is offering 53$/hr as a staff pharmacist. I know the computer system at Walgreens, and I have to learn everything if I leave Walgreens and join CVS. Which one should I pick?

Members don't see this ad.

Pick the one that actually offers you a job.

• Haha
Reactions: 11 users
I thought I'd never write these words, but I would work for CVS. Make sure you're applying for other jobs after 3-6 months there.

• Dislike
Reactions: 11 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I came here to say Walgreens until I saw the pay. Definitely the red devil.

• Haha
Reactions: 4 users
While CVS is miserable, Walgreens have been striving to catch up and overtake them in the race to the bottom. Their only advantage is the really nice intuitive computer system, and it's not work $7/hour difference. Go with CVS, get paychecks and experience, and once you have experience, keep your eyes and ears peeled for better options. Job search is better once you are both currently employed and have real world experience.

Even as recently as five years ago, if someone told me I would be recommending CVS over Walgreens, I would have laughed...

Reactions: 6 users
As much as I hate to say it, CVS. Walgreens is only a step or two behind in the dbaggery dept, and they have stagnant pay, layoffs, and much more general instability. CVS at least still gives out raises and getting a staff offer is much better than fighting it out in the general float pool.

Reactions: 3 users
What about the computer system of CVS? Is it easy to learn?