This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FlerpDerp

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a freshman and I'm thinking about being a CS Major. I think it would be useful in research when I become a doctor , but I'm a little worried that it'll end up being useless or too demanding. Should I keep the CS major?

Members don't see this ad.

Take a couple of CS courses and see if it encourages you to want to know more about CS. Only you can decide on what you want to do and if it really isn't your passion then don't do it

I don't think it would be any more demanding than the bio/chem majors most premeds do. And you are right, if you know how to program and compute things you could potentially have a skill that many medical researchers lack. I say go for it if you're interested.

Members don't see this ad :)
Take CS classes and see if you like it. I think that coding in general and the math classes you would need to take are all very difficult, but that's just me. Plus, if you like it enough and decide you don't want to be a doctor, CS is a great field to be in right now.