Cortisone Injections and weakened tendons?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wanker

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello to all.
I am a pre-med student and runner who has been battling a strain somewhere in the hip flexor region since early january. I have been through 11 weeks of PT, and I have been on Diclofenac (150mgs/day) and Ibuprofen (up to 1800mgs/day, although not at the same time as the diclofenac). I also had about 4 weeks with no running at all, although now I do run about 25 min/day very slowly with minimal pain ( a substantial step down from the hour plus i used to run) My hip flexor, however, is still hurting as much as it did 12 weeks ago. I was considering asking my physician about a cortisone shot, but I was reading up on them and saw that they can possibly weaken tendons and /or bone tendon junctions.

I was wondering if anyone here had read any literature or even done any research firsthand as to how this affects people long term (i.e. - does the tendon return to its original strenth after a while, or is this effect permanent?)

Any insight would be helpful
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

The pain you experience is there a "snapping" or "popping" sensation with it? Is the pain groin pain in nature? Sometimes what you are describing sounds like a snapping hip problem where the iliopsoas snaps over the lesser trochanter as you move from flexion to extension. Plus there are 2 other variations of snapping hip syndrome as well. This could be wrong of course. I've seen cortisone used in 2 ways, one to try to relieve the pain and reduce the inflammation in an area/join, but secondly with the anesthetic portion of the shot (mixed with the cortisone) if you get immediate relief you know the shot was placed in the correct position, thus yielding a diagnostic component to the cortisone injection.