Complicated MCAT decision HELP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Juuco

Reaction score
I am a sophomore in undergrad with a biochem major, I've got kind of a weird situation that I need to make sense of. I have been accepted to an early admittance DO program that would have me enter med school after my junior year of undergrad and skip the mcat. I have some concerns over being able to match competitively as a DO and would like to see what MD options I have, but I am working on a shorter time scale than most.

I am thinking that I can take this coming summer and fall semester to study for the mcat and take a practice exam as a sort of diagnostic for myself. If the mcat blows up in my face, I enter the DO program a year ahead--if it goes well I continue my studying and apply traditionally after continuing to study through spring. To complicate this even more I will being taking biochem first semester of junior year, after I am well into my prep. (I should also state the reason Id like to see my scores before starting in the spring is because I have to pay a $3000 deposit to the DO school and I am broke.)

I just need some advice to make the best out of what seems to be a good situation. Do DOs really match worse statistically? I am I giving myself enough time to make a prediction of my mcat performance? Can I just give myself some grace on scores relating to biochem when making a decision?

Members don't see this ad.

Do DOs really match worse statistically?
yep.
Can I just give myself some grace on scores relating to biochem when making a decision?
Nope.

Look, the big thing is you need to figure out if going to this DO school is a good idea. If it's a solid school, I'd take the early admission.

There's not really a right/wrong answer here, you're gambling on your ability to get into a solid MD school which is getting harder every year.