Coming back to study for EPPP after time away.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

youngharold1984

Reaction score
Hello fellow-SDNers, I graduated with my Ph.D. in school psychology over 5 years ago, and took some time away from the field to deal with personal matters. I now feel ready to get licensed and pursue a career in the mental health field. Given that I have been out of school for a good time, will be coming from a school psych. background, and have not been exactly involved in clinical services in the meantime, I am concerned in my preparation for the EPPP. Am I at a disadvantage already? And would preparing using exam prep materials be enough? Or should I seek out more clinical-psych heavy graduate school material to get a better basis, given that the exam seems to cater towards Clinical Psychology material? Trying to learn a whole new curriculum seems daunting, but part of me feels it might better my chances. Thanks for any thoughts you may have!

Members don't see this ad.

What is the EPPP pass rate of your grad program? That would give us a good baseline of your education/training prior to the leave.

I think licensing boards are going to have more of an issue with not having any clinical experience for more than 5 years, and no unsupervised experience at all given that time frame.

Members don't see this ad :)