clinical vs lab(bench) summer research opportunities

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wannabemd912

WannbeMD912
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a traditional premed student (a rising senior) with a major biology and minors in chemistry and art. I'm also taking year off to hopefull participate in the NIH academy. I was accepted to participate in two summer research opportunities. One is the Cornell (the med school) Travellers Summer Research Fellowship and the other is the Delaware State University's SR-EIP program sponsored by Leadership Alliance. At Cornell I 'll be doing clinical research (data anaylsis ) and lots of shadowing while at Delaware it's microbiology research, not directly related to medicine.

So I guess my questions are:
1. what role does the name/reputation of an institution play when making these kinds of desions?
2. Is there a preference for laboratory or clincal research experience when your application is being reviewed for med school.
3.Do you think I'll be hurting my chances of getting into the NIH Academy by going for clinical research?
4. Any other advice that you have to offer.
Thanks!:D

Members don't see this ad.

Well, Im just a first year and dont know much about what adcoms think.....but I would go for the clinical research. It is more applicable to what you will be doing. As far as prestige goes, Im sure most adcoms might say it doesnt matter, but all of this stuff is subjective, so of course the prestige of the place will help a little....but go with whichever you want to do more because what you get out of it will vary depending on your own preferences. For me, I would never do bench work and I would find it hard to sound enthusiastic when describing my research to an adcom.

1. what role does the name/reputation of an institution play when making these kinds of desions?