Choosing a residency based on where you eventually want to practice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nki0329

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I am a 4th year student, and CRIPS is coming up next month. I had this thought pop into my head, and I wanted to get you guy's take on it. My goal is to eventually practice in California post residency. Would it be wise to pick a West Coast residency, with the additional benefit of networking? I know California is a competitive market, so I figured it would help me being at least on the West Coast for residency, even if its not California initially, I would be better able to get to know attendings that have connections there. I realized that sometimes in life, it really is about who you know sometimes. Let me know what you think, and if anyone has had a similar experience. Thanks :)

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi everyone,
I am a 4th year student, and CRIPS is coming up next month. I had this thought pop into my head, and I wanted to get you guy's take on it. My goal is to eventually practice in California post residency. Would it be wise to pick a West Coast residency, with the additional benefit of networking? I know California is a competitive market, so I figured it would help me being at least on the West Coast for residency, even if its not California initially, I would be better able to get to know attendings that have connections there. I realized that sometimes in life, it really is about who you know sometimes. Let me know what you think, and if anyone has had a similar experience. Thanks :)

IMO this is totally dependant on the training you are getting at said residency program...