Chemical Engineer to MSTP or Ph.D?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hydroplain

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a pre-med chemical engineering undergraduate, and I am not sure whether or not to pursue a combined MD/Ph.D degree, or if I should go straight into a Ph.D program in pharmacology.

A little bit about myself: I am currently 25, and I have been an undergraduate for a long time. When I left high school, I faced severe medical problems which made having a normal college experience impossible (although I still attempted to take courses). Because of this, my GPA is not that of a typical pre-med student. I currently possess a 3.1 GPA with over 120+ credits which makes boosting my GPA a bit difficult. I recently got accepted to be in a McNair program which gave me a full tuition waiver, research experience, and a promise to pursue a Ph.D degree (my initial goal after my B.S). I was placed into a pharmacology research project (a project I will have 2-3 years of experience in prior to graduation) which I am in love with. Being the sick child that I was, I learned a LOT about pharmaceuticals and patient care from a patient’s perspective, and I have concluded that I would like to devote the rest of my life to advancing medical research. The pharmaceuticals that are currently on the market are amazing, but there still needs to be more research to reduce the negative impact that they are having on patient’s health. More specifically, drugs used for mental disorders and pain carry a high risk for addiction and abuse which patients are not fully aware of prior to taking the drug.