Can you guys, as doctors, give me your honest answer?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thepocatomyhontas

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm a HS student, and I know I don't exactly belong in this forum, but I have a question for all of you doctors. I am really passionate about becoming a doctor and I cannot see myself as anything other than a doctor. I'm not like just any other HS student, bc I KNOW for a fact that I want to be a doctor. So I want to gain some shadowing experience in pediatric oncology, bc that's the specialty I'm interested in and many people told me that if I want to apply to a BS/MD program I need at least one shadowing experience. At the same time, I'm really interested in what doctors actually "do", especially pediatricians. So can you guys, as doctors, give me your honest opinion on a HS student asking to shadow you? Would it be okay if I did that, or would I be rejected by almost everyone?

Members don't see this ad.

This isn't at all uncommon, and I'm sure people would be willing to have you along. A good starting place is your own (or family's) physician, who may know other people and may be willing to make introductions. If you're near an academic center they would have a heme/onc clinic as well. But start with someone you know and go from there.

I think it would be a great idea for you to shadow. Too many high school students have no idea what they want to do. An early plan helps. It never hurts to ask around for shadowing opportunities.

Members don't see this ad :)
@Cuthbert Thanks so much! How do I begin? I volunteer at Jefferson in Philadelphia and I've emailed several medical oncologists/hematologists, but none have replied. It's been almost a week. :(