Can I take Step 2 whenever I want?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ricepudding16

Reaction score
I am a new MD/PhD student in a program that does 3 years of medical school, followed by 4 years of PhD, and then 1 year of med school (instead of more traditional 2-4-2). As a result, MD/PhD students here take step 1 and step 2 before starting the PhD. I was reading somewhere that step 2 scores are getting higher every year. Would I be allowed to wait to take step 2 until after the PhD? If I am allowed, do you think this is a good idea? The thought of taking it so soon is stressing me out, especially because it is not P/F.

Members don't see this ad.

I would take both before the PhD.

There's no guarantee that a PhD will be 4 yrs (expect 5 straight up - I've even had friends take 6 yrs to finish). There is a time limit of when you have to take both step 1 and 2 (I think 7 yrs?) but I cannot stress how rusty you'll be after your PhD, esp if it was in something super basic and you haven't had to think about clinical management in a few years.

Do yourself the favor of not making your future self stressed over taking an exam that will def bear the brunt of the exam creep (look it up in the MD/PhD forum).

Reactions: 1 users
I would ask your upperclassmen and admin for advice. They could probably go into more specifics, and whether they want you to take it at a certain time.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Not really related, but is it ok if I take step 2 on sept 12? Will it matter if it arrives a little after sept 28 when residencies start reading apps?