Can I do this?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

amandaz

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been thinking about pursuing a career in medicine. I have a Bachelor of Fine Arts, so I'd be doing postbaccalaureate studies for a couple of years. I currently work full-time, and cannot afford to quit working. I plan to take things very slow and make sure I don't get in over my head too quickly. Obviously, I want to be well prepared for the demands of medical school.

After finishing my Postbaccalaureate studies and being accepted to medical school, I'm concerned about how to finance my education. Do any of you work full-time while going to med school? I'm still paying off debt accumulated from my first degree (and frequent college spending sprees! yikes!), so I don't think I will be able to stop working.

I've been reading everyone's posts and have found some great advice. I'm sure my situation is not unlike many of the others on this forum, but I thought maybe someone had more advice to share for someone like me.

Members don't see this ad.

It took me ten years to get to the point of even applying to med school. The way I see it, I do not want to look back on my life and feel I could have done more. If this is truly your dream, it would be wrong not to live it. I work part time, raise kids, and take about 12-15 hours per semester. I will be heavily in debt by the time I'm through, and my oldest child will be ready to start college before I'm out of med school. I could have climbed the corporate ladder and had a degree in business, making as much as my peers....but I am here. And I love it here. The sacrifices are minimal when compared to the feeling I get from knowing I'm doing it; it's really hard to explain. I just know it's right. And I have confidence that it will all work out. :)