Calling all personal finance gurus!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ruban

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Not sure if this is the best forum to post this on, but:

As a medical student, I haven't had any salary. My parents have managed my personal finances (quite well). However, as a resident, I will be moving away, and will finally have a real salary (yay!).

The question: I need recommendations on a good book to read that can help me manage my personal finances. Criteria?

-Should offer concrete suggestions on what to do and how to do it (investments, 401Ks, banking, etc).
-Should be good advice. No fads, etc. Just good, sound recommendations.
-Should be reasonably comprehensive, but still readable.

Any suggestions would be very helpful!! Thanks! :luck:

Members don't see this ad.

I say take baby steps now. Just figure out your living expenses, and get your bills paid automatically with a billpay type system so you don't have to worry about them. That in and of itself will keep you occupied for some time. First few months of residency are tough, and you're in a completely new area.

Once you figure out how much money you can set aside per month for investment after the first few months, then tackle this.

Members don't see this ad :)
Try some books from the popular advice givers seen on TV and radio - Suzie Ormonn, Dave Ramsey, David Bach - they all have a few books, and even some free info on their websites, and they are a good place to start for some basic practical financial advice about how to save and how to stay out of debt.