Buying a practice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lomaric

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a third-year resident, and have been thinking about the idea of buying a practice. I have seen prices range all over the place, from someone selling their practice with no equipment, to someone wanting to pay for the past seven years of patients they have seen.

Can someone give me an idea of what you should pay for a practice that has done it?

What should you pay for?

Should you pay A percentage of their gross income?

What should you pay for patients?

Any information would be great if somebody has done this journey. Also any recommendations of what should be asked, when thinking about buying a practice

Members don't see this ad.

Charts aren’t worth much anymore. I wouldn’t pay a significant amount of money for them. Patients are free to see whoever they like now a days and typically don’t require a referral. At least not the plans you would like to be contracted with. Not to mention, a podiatry office isn’t a dental office or a family practice office where patients have regular, recurring appointments (for the most part). A chart for someone who googled the practice because they had an ingrown 3 years ago is almost worthless. Don’t forget that you are buying the EMR in which these charts are stored and if you don’t like it and decide to switch, that will cost you additional money after you purchase the practice. The charts that this old podiatrist feels have value, could end up costing you thousands of $ in data transfer costs. If you started out on your own you can obviously choose your EMR from day 1.