Becoming a pilot?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

VictorOfHungerGames

May the odds be ever in your favor
Removed
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been hearing alot about pilot shortage lately. Some are predicting that there would be 800,000 new jobs in the next decade for commercial pilots. I looked into it and seems like once you're licensed as a pilot, you would have to do about 1500 hours of flight before you can become a commercial airline pilot. Depending on your situation, that would be possible in a few years.

Anyone interested? haha I am!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Not a pharmacist: I'm a current medical lab tech looking for something outside of healthcare and considering aviation. Here's what I've found out from a few pilots, both military and civilian:

If you get a BS in something aviation related, the time required is cut to 1,000 hours. You'll graduate with ~200 - 250 hours with your commercial pilot's license. That's where the difficult part is: Gaining another 800 hours or so to finally apply for a job with the regionals with all the debt from training (could be looking at $80k, depending on the school part 61 vs 141). Starting at the regionals will put you around $50k (not including bonuses). If you want to fly for the legacy airlines (American, United, Alaskan), you're looking at a minimum of 4,000 hours of flight time and will need TPIC (turbine pilot in command) time in addition to those 4,000 hours.