Audiology & Salary

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lvlv

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Greetings :)

I'm a sophomore female undergraduate majoring in Speech & Hearing Science with a concentration in audiology, also pursuing a minor in psychology. Being an audiologist is my dream! I am hearing impaired myself, so I've had plenty of exposure to audiologists and have seen what they do and how they do it up close. I know this would be the field for me! However, I am admittedly concerned about the salary in the profession. I plan on applying to AuD and joint AuD/PhD programs and I've heard from various sources that after the completion of either graduate program, you can expect to be in about $100K worth of debt. This, of course, is not something I am happy to hear (no pun intended) considering I'm already going to be in about $35K debt from my undergraduate degree. Furthermore, the average audiologist salary is between 60K-75K and I've heard of some starting audiologists making only $25K~yikes!

So I was wondering:
-Is the salary of an audiologist solely dependant on experience?
-Does the type of degree (AuD or PhD) and/or number of degrees (AuD & PhD) you have impact your salary?
-Does where you work impact your salary? (I personally would prefer to work in a hospital setting).

As much as I love audiology, I don't want to financially struggle when I get older. Financial stability is a must for me, and I want to be able to keep up with my loan payments. Perhaps, do you think that audiologists may potentially earn more in the future? (I won't officially be an audiologist until 6 or 7 years from now).

I am not "money-hungry" (so please no negative comments) but I do care about being able to financially provide for myself, and possibly a family one day, while living comfortably.