Apply after 2 years of research or take a gap year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

idemandeuphoria

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Recently changed from pre-PhD to pre-MD/PhD. I will be finishing my sophomore year in April. Let me know if it would be advisable to apply in a year or if I should wait 2 years and take a gap year.

My research experience so far:
- Almost one year in my lab (~300 hours). Poster presentation. Oral presentation. Won a $3000 research grant through my university.
Future things: presenting a couple more posters this semester. presenting at national conference in Fall 2020. Taking on a LOT more leadership roles. Potentially will be a low level author on published paper (it’s unfortunately a very political decision so I’m not sure)

I also JUST started some volunteer experiences. I have a lot of teaching experience (teaching is a huge passion of mine), but my volunteering (both clinical and non-clinical) are low.

Members don't see this ad.

If you have >3.8 and get >514 on MCAT, sounds like you should be good to go with applying as long as your lab is in the same field as your eventual PhD and you show research productivity. Your research hours is pretty low for a 1 year experience, try to aim for >500 hours this year. I am assuming the grant is for a specific project so take ownership of that and be as productive with as possible. You must show that you can do research, not just do someone else's research

Reactions: 1 user