Anxiety about career choice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

monkieturtle

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I recently got accepted into a pharm school in CA but after seeing many many posts and comments about saturation, it really scares me. Pharmacy was my career goal when I was a college student. Now I feel lost and useless as I dont know if I should continue forward. My family is low income so the thought of having 200k+ debt with low job opportunities scares me a lot. Can someone help me and give me some advice? Thank you very much!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone! I recently got accepted into a pharm school in CA but after seeing many many posts and comments about saturation, it really scares me. Pharmacy was my career goal when I was a college student. Now I feel lost and useless as I dont know if I should continue forward. My family is low income so the thought of having 200k+ debt with low job opportunities scares me a lot. Can someone help me and give me some advice? Thank you very much!
32 hours a week is the new 40, so that’s roughly 80ish to 90ish a year depending on what state you’re in minus taxes. To put a dent in your loans you need to be making at least half of your loan amount. You do the math. Oh wait... but you’re planning on going to pharmacy school so your type X....... ask someone to help you with the math.

Well what do you like? What made you want to choose pharmacy? I'm assuming you have pharmacy technician experience - what did you like about it and what didn't you like? Do you want to stick with healthcare? Do you like science? Research? Lab work? Your options are endless.

Although personally, if I could go back, I would not choose anything to do with healthcare at all. I think pretty much every healthcare profession is becoming saturated (albeit pharmacy is definitely the worst of them all)

Members don't see this ad :)