Am I on the right track?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kcirlu

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

Hopefully this is the right place to ask, as I just wanted to know if I'm still on track for my application. I'm not looking for school lists yet, as I just turned junior

Here's my info:

State: Virginia
Race: AA Male (Haitian, Dominican). Fluent in Spanish (ESL)
Class: Junior
Major/Minor: Computer Science / Chemistry
GPA: 3.15 (2.67 > 3.0 > 3.32 > 3.52)
MCAT: Not taken yet. Planning to take a gap year or two after I graduate

Resarch: After this summer I'll have 820 hours. No publications. Worked in a microbiology lab, and I'm currently in a physical chemistry lab. I'll be presenting at my university's symposiums and a couple of regional conferences throughout my remaining two years.

Shadowing: ~60 hours with a hem/onc. Haven't shadowed anything else

Voluteering: I was a translator at a local clinic for Spanish between patients and doctors. ~30 hours. I'll start working as an EMT next fall and throughout the next two years.

ECs: Resident Assistant for three years by the time I graduate (I oversee ~30 students at a time). Treasurer for an organization promoting STEM for Hispanic students. I'll also start tutoring undergrads starting fall as well. I cycle, exercise and play the violin as a hobby I guess.

What else should I be doing besides working on my GPA? Thanks for your help.

Members don't see this ad.

Your extracurriculars are looking good, just make sure you keep improving your GPA - that is much harder to fix than research/clinical experience. Make sure you know how you learn best since that will help you greatly with your GPA and MCAT, especially if you have a full-time job while studying.

Other things that come to mind:
  • Shadowing hours are great, but having more than one speciality (esp. primary care) will be beneficial