Am I doing enough to eventually match (as an M2)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

battlesankey

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I have been having some concerns about whether or not I am doing enough to eventually match anesthesia and I wanted to post here to see if I am on the right track. I am currently a second year student at a lower tier US MD school. I am doing relatively well in classes (above class average in exam scores, but within 1SD of the mean). I feel that in terms of grades I am doing fine and I am on track to get a decent Step 1 score, but I was wondering if there should be more that I should be doing outside of class. As far as outside of class is concerned, I am involved as a research assistant and I am on track to be mentioned on a couple of papers as a contributor. In addition, I am a member of a student organization related to research. I participated in one volunteering event associated with another student interest group. Other than that, I haven't really been involved in anything and have mainly used my leftover free time to spend time with family/play sports and things like that. Essentially, I don't really know how much EC's are expected. I'm not sure if they are definitely expected like it was to get into medical school or if at this point this is less important. If it is more important than I realize, I would prefer to find out now on this forum and make changes in the future rather than continue to not do enough.

Members don't see this ad.

Be a US M.D., check. Score at or above 220 on step1, score at or above 235 on step2ck, pass step2 cs = match. Done.

Reactions: 3 users