Advice on next step, cGPA 2.9, MCAT: 509 SMP?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drclueless

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I’d like some guidance on what my next step should be in the pursuit of MD/DO.

Sorry if i sound like a robot in this post I just wanna get the point across haha

I am in my last semester of undergrad, graduating with a BS in in Human Physiology.
I slacked off in school and currently have a 2.7 sGPA and a 2.9 cGPA.
I have taken the MCAT once and got a 509.
However, I got a 3.9 last semester while taking 5 upper division science classes.
This semester I am taking 4 science classes and am on track to get near a 4.0

One of the reasons for my low undergraduate GPA besides me not working hard was that I had a major family emergency early in my college career which distracted me from school.
I am a decent writer and have friends who are professional writers so my personal statement and activities section on the AMCAS should be pretty well written.
I am Indian and my parents are pretty well off so I’m not URM in anyway.
I’m also a strong interviewee and have done very well in mock interviews/job interviews
I only mention this because I don’t believe my PS/activities or interview will be a weak point in my application. Not trying to be arrogant

I have about 500+ clinical volunteer hours in a hospital and a elderly rehab center.
Ive been working for a few months as an EMT, and at a psych clinic that works with drug addicts and homeless individuals.
I should be able to write very well about meaningful experiences from these ECs that make me want to be a physician.
I just wanted to mention all that because I really think that my weakest points are my GPA and MCAT, not my ECs, PS, or interview.

I am aware that it will take a lot of work to get my work ethic to be that of a physicians. I do think I am capable if I apply myself.