advice for a hapless international?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

banana k

registered user of WHAT?
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey all-- maybe you can help me. i did my degree at JCU in queensland, but i still don't have australian residency, so i'm entering u.sydney as an international student. which is obviously full-fee--yack! fortunately it's still cheaper than a US medical degree, which is a big reason why i'm enrolling here... however, that still sets me back about $180grand AUD. any international students out there with advice on where you got loans that work internationally? any institutions to avoid, any ones that make it simple and understandable, any particular ones that cater to students abroad? and on that note, are there any Australian organisations that cater to international medical students settling in Australia?

other than that, HALLELUJAH, i got in! (i'm still high about it :laugh: )

Members don't see this ad.

Congratulations on your acceptance!!!

Financing as an international student would most likely be best sourced from your home country. What's your citizenship?

unfortunately i'm american. and we all know how well that goverment takes care of its own. any word on MRB-type scholarships that cater to internationals?

Members don't see this ad :)
Also, does anybody have any information on Loan programs for Non-Americans at the Uni of Sydney Graduate Medical Program ???

banana k said:
unfortunately i'm american. and we all know how well that goverment takes care of its own. any word on MRB-type scholarships that cater to internationals?