Advice for a 3rd year interested in psych

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lu2003

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
HI, everyone,
I see that interviews are flying! Congrats everyone....:clap:
For you guys going through the process, can you guys give advice/feedback to those who will follow in your footsteps?
i.e. grades, when to take Step 2, research, recommendation letters.
I know that for the most part, psych residencies aren't that hard to get into, but for the really competitive ones, what do you think would help?
Thanks for any information in advance.
Also, I would love to hear any feedback about the schools that you start interviewing at.

Thanks again!

Members don't see this ad.

Anyone? Any advice at all?

Hi there,

I've been thinking about responding to your thread, though in many ways, I don't feel qualified to say what works and what doesn't since I'm very new at the process (haven't received or attended many interviews or matched). I'm assuming this goes for many of the other posters on this board as well.

So probably the best people to ask these questions to are the program director at your school and residents in your own psychiatry department who have already been through the process.

Also, as other posters have commented, psychiatry programs are quite different in terms of focus (as opposed to medicine or surgery programs). So the programs that you will be interested in will differ depending on whether you are interested in psychotherapy, psychosomatics (consult-liaison), community psychiatry, neurobiology... as programs can vary widely in their opportunities for exposure to the above.

That said, here's my two cents on what I've learned so far:

1. It seems that overall solid grades (especially in psychiatry, medicine, neurology) and solid board scores are helpful, but not as mandatory as in some specialties.